With a Heavy Heart….

I am very sorry that I didn’t post last week as expected. My copious amounts of free time that week evaporated because a beloved family member, my lovely Auntie Marie, died suddenly. Although there was no foul play, it is devastating none the less. I have found myself caught up in grief and sadness with her passing, and far away from where I expected to be during the last fortnight.

Marie was a lovely woman. She is the oldest of my mother’s sisters, and she lived near where I grew up. She was one of the aunties I saw quite often, and she was always a happy woman. She loved her family deeply. The biggest tragedy in her life was the death of her husband, David. They had been together since they were both teenagers, and I remember how stunned and lost she looked at his funeral. I don’t think she ever really recovered from losing him. Even though I was young at the time, I knew how much he meant to her. Their love was special, and I can’t imagine the pain of losing your partner so early. My Auntie lived for 14 years without him. During that time, she beat breast cancer and showed me how strong you can be if you set your mind to it. I will remember her most for the moments of strength she had even when she felt broken. The only thought that brings me peace is knowing that she is finally reunited with her love and in that they are both whole again. Auntie Marie, may you be at peace. Always.

I will be the first person to admit that I don’t deal well with death. Although it is intertwined with life, it is one that I struggle to come to terms with. As I continue to wrestle with it now, I do have to say that nothing puts life in perspective quite like death. It has helped me reevaluate the things I’m doing with my life and the choices I’m making for my family, my friends, and myself. As I see my cousins grieve, I can’t imagine myself without my mother. Also, I can’t imagine my daughter’s life without me. I want to give her the best in life, and I know there is more I can be doing for her and for us to make that a reality. I want to be a better person for all of them, for all my family.

I know this post is quite off-topic, and for that I apologize. I felt you deserved some explanation for my disappearance this time around. Some good news is that the box of Barbie Who? dolls is with me and I have had a chance to do work with them. I didn’t bring along my box of crochet thread, but my mom is an avid crocheter and said that I can use anything that I need while we are here. She has an incredible amount of crafting supplies, too. We also plan on digging around in her attic to find the old magazines and patterns she has collected over the years – she assures me that she has quite a few with instructions for making Barbie-sized clothes. The next few posts will include some neat things that she has given me and my daughter, as well as a write-up on the finished Ood pants. I am currently trying to find a good place to take pictures of everything. The lighting in most areas isn’t up to par, especially since we’ve been getting so much rain. Once I get a decent lamp, I will be able to take pictures, write posts, and get them published. This blog is something very dear to me, and I know it has been neglected since the move began. I am going to redouble my efforts to be here and work on this thing that I love so much. I need to make time for this, and I hope that ya’ll haven’t given up on me amongst the chaos that has been happening lately. I thank you all for your patience. I hope you have a fantastic week!

6 Comments

Filed under Barbie Who?

6 responses to “With a Heavy Heart….

  1. I am so sorry for your loss.

  2. What a lovely tribute to your auntie Marie. I know you must find it hard to think of other things right now. At least you are having some special time with your mum and I know you will make the most of that.
    I’ll look forward to seeing what old stuff she has hiding away in the attic.
    As I’ve had to cope with my husband being sick for most of this year I know that blogging really helps by giving you a chance to focus on something else for a while when all the things that must be done are done. We’ll still be here when you get back.

    • Thank you for your kind words. I have been enjoying the time with family, and I am going to extend my time here for a few more weeks to get the most of it. Now that I have had a chance to write things down and get back in the swing of things, I realize how much I do enjoy doing this. It is just the type of distraction I need right now.

      I hope your husband is doing well! I know you’ve mentioned him being ill a few times, but I am so far behind on reading blogs. I do hope you’re both doing well. Thank you for your kindness.

      • You are welcome, yes my husband is still in hospital although in rehab now. Long complicated story. He has been sick most of this year. We think it might be another month or so before he can come home but at least he’s no longer in danger.

      • I’m glad to hear he is improving! My grandmother spent several weeks in the hospital and then a nursing facility last year, and it was a hard time for everybody. Nobody likes seeing someone they love that way. I hope your husband continues to improves further so he can come home. We’re cheering for him from over here!

Geronimo!

