It’s Raining Men

I hit the jackpot! I feel like the planets aligned and somebody smiled down upon me from on high when I went into town yesterday. We had errands to run, and while out and about I went to two thrift stores. At the first one, I found a modern Ken doll. At the second, I found two vintage Ken dolls and a random generic guy doll. The best part? I only spend $2.25 on the four of them. Score!

IMG_7604

I will start with the first Ken. I went to the thrift store on base, and while there I browsed their Barbie area. They had some new dolls for the first time in weeks! Most of the new ones were vintage dolls with stains or flawed limbs, but hiding at the back of the drawer was a blonde Ken doll! He even has a complete outfit and shoes. I was so excited! I bought him for $1.50 and I thought my day couldn’t get any better. It almost makes me forget about the Headless Ken incident. Almost.

IMG_7480

He isn’t perfect. It looks like somebody tried to pain his lips and nails, but I feel pretty good about my ability to clean him up. Worst-case scenario, I will have to do some repainting on him. As for his identification, it gets a bit tricky. According to Kattis Dolls, this doll is a generic Ken from a 2007 mold. He didn’t have a specific ‘identity’ beyond things like Prince or Groom. This is a bit of a bummer, but in a way it is a good thing. I can reinvent him into whatever I want. What an exciting prospect!

After spending the day in town, we stopped at my favorite thrift store downtown. While there, I managed to find three more male dolls! Best of all, they were only $0.25 each. Seriously! I spent less than a dollar for these guys. I am just so excited that I managed to snag them. You see, when we first got to the store I spent half an hour in the car while my daughter to napped. After she woke up, we went into the store and started shopping. As I was looking at a jogging stroller, an employee came over with a big trolly of toys for the toy area. Right on top, there were some Barbie dolls. Much to my surprise, three were male! Another lady found the brown haired Ken first, but she put it back after examining him and I snagged him up (more into that later). I am so happy things worked out so well. If she hadn’t been napping, we may not have been there as the employee was bringing out the dolls. It is so exciting when timing works out! Luck was really on my side that day.

The first of the three dolls I found at this store is a generic male doll. For some reason, his face reminds me of Benedict Cumberbatch. I don’t see any marks that say who he was made by or when he was created. The pain on his face is very faded, and it is something I will need to repaint before he becomes a part of the blog. Still, I am glad to have him onboard. With the right repaint, he could be any number of exciting people from Doctor Who.

IMG_7603

The next doll I bought there is a blonde Ken doll. He looks vintage! I say that because of his weird head and his lack of a year on his head. His looks remind me of a Goomba from that awful live-action Super Mario Brothers movie. His body mold is stamped with 1968, and according to Kattis Dolls, he is a MOD Ken. This means that he was made sometime between 1968 and 1976 for any number of sets. He may be a Malibu Ken; he certainly does resemble the 1974 Malibu Ken pictured on the Kattis Dolls website (as well as others I saw with an image search). He is wearing a yellow outfit that matches his blonde hair and bright smile. I wasn’t able to ID the outfit, but I am glad that he did come with such an interesting outfit. Overall, he rocks!

IMG_7602

The final doll I found at this store is a brunette Ken. He also looks like he has the MOD Ken body and head like the blonde doll above. He comes with a pair of swimming trunks and a bath robe . The robe has seen better days, and so has the doll. The first flaw I noticed about him was a dis-formed foot, but once I got home I realized that his torso had popped out of its joint. No wonder the other lady didn’t want him! He certainly has more flaws than most dolls, but not as many as that Aladdin doll I saw last month. I see his potential, though, and I don’t regret buying him in the slightest. We’ll see if I can rehab him and get him to a usable state. The way I see it, I can’t break him anymore than he is already broken, so I can do some new techniques. I have heard that putting the body in boiling water makes it easier to pop in broken joints. I may try that or just using a hair dryer to fix his body. As for the problems with his chewed-up features, I have heard of people using liquid vinyl (for fixing boats) to do rehab. I don’t know if I’m that brave, but it certainly is something to consider. Even if it is a hot mess, it would make an amusing blog post.

IMG_7601

In the trolly with the guys, they had a few generic lady dolls that I didn’t bother with. There were also three damaged Barbie dolls in the mix – they all had bite marks and puncture wounds like a cat had clawed and bitten them. While I may overlook some flaws with the guys, I have higher standards for the gals because I see them fairly often. I may not have gotten any of those dolls, but, overall, I consider it a winning day because I found these guys.

In other news, I have been making solid progress on the Ood mask. I have been using two different dolls while sizing it – my red haired Barbie and a generic doll without markings. I will go into more detail in another post, but for now I will say that I have to make an entirely new pattern. This will make it take longer than making somebody else’s pattern, so be patient with this one. I am getting frustrated, though, so I may make other parts of the outfit as I continue to fiddle around with it. I’m sure I could knock out a pair of pants in a day or two….. Eh, we’ll see what happens. I also need to decide on a doll to use for it before I start on clothing. The fit varies depending on the body type, and knowing my luck I would make an outfit to fit the belly-button type and end up choosing one with an older body.

That’s it! Like the title says, it is raining men here at Barbie Who! I am very excited that the number of male dolls in the collection has tripled. Tripled! I just can’t believe it. I have been collecting dolls from thrift stores for about a year now, and this is the first time that I have found more than one male doll in a day. They may have a few flaws, but I can work with that. I am very excited for the future possibilities these dolls bring with them. Now I feel obligated to make a gentleman be the next entry on the blog. The only question is who….

IMG_7605

10 Comments

Filed under Barbie Who?, Shopping

10 responses to “It’s Raining Men

  1. What a fantastic find! I am quite amused by the tiny head on the blond Ken doll, though. Or maybe it’s the giant neck…

  2. You would love the thrift stores up here, LOTS of male dolls available when I went today. Also lots of different Barbies, Disney princesses, etc. Downside is they mark them all $2.99 each. Some are in pretty good shape with clothes but naked ones are marked the same as clothed ones.

    • I am so jealous! I would love looking through them. I wouldn’t mind paying $2.99 for a good older doll rather than $8 for a new one at the store. I like the older dolls. They’re more masculine than the current molds.

      • Not so sure how old you would find. I got a good condition 2001 Palm Beach Midge with the “always dressed” painted on bikini today to use as a model for thread crocheted Barbie stuff. At least I found one that had a nice outfit (black turtleneck and jeans) and red hair instead of the ubiquitous blonde.

      • I can dream. 🙂 I looked up that Midge doll, and she looks awesome! What a great find. I like Midge dolls; they have so much personality. I can’t wait to see what you create for her to model.

  3. You did do well to find so many male dolls in one day. I agree with your ID’s. The generic Ken has turned up in quite a few guises. I think the first one was a beach doll as my sister has one. You can get that face mold as a brunette too. Your dark haired de-formed doll I think might be Dream Date Ken if his hair is black. The mod guy is certainly older, there were a lot of those malibu Kens in the 70s and I am not good at picking which is which without the original outfit. If you have ever looked at “Keeping Ken” that’s a great site for Ken ID’s even though I don’t think it’s been updated recently. http://www.manbehindthedoll.com/index.html
    Looking forward to hearing more about the Ood.

    • Yes! His hair is black. Great to know he is Dream Date Ken. Thanks for the link! I haven’t seen or used that website before. I’m sure it will come in handy. 🙂

      The Ood mask is coming along. I just unraveled a dozen rows because I couldn’t get the mask over the model doll’s giant head, so I’m regrouping from that fiasco. I feel pretty good about it, though. I know what I want to do next to fix it, so it’s just a matter of sitting down and getting it done.

  4. Hello
    The mystery male is a Wilko Just Girls figure (brunet). I have the blond still unopened. They are really rare by now. I paid a tidy sum for mine to be shipped too. He does have a rather pained, tortured, sad Benedict/Keanu Reeves face, but it is also strong and masculine. I wouldn’t try to change it, as it would quite likely lose that certain original quality which only this one has.

Geronimo!

