Winter Shopping

Before the latest snow storm came through our area, I had a chance to do one more big shopping trip. I mainly finished up my Christmas shopping, but, as always, I made some time to visit some thrift stores in the city. While there, I found some pretty cool stuff!

First I stopped at a store just south of the city. I like the store, but I just don’t make it to that area very often. I am very happy that I shopped there today because I found a couple of dolls.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/06a/16074280/files/2014/12/img_7035.jpg

The first doll is a generic doll with a vinyl head and hollow plastic body (this picture does not do justice to how bad this doll looks). The second doll is a Disney Merida doll. I want you all to know that I would not have bought the first doll under normal circumstances. You see, the people at this store are very smart. They know that nobody in their right mind would buy the weird doll with the mismatched body and head, so they packaged her with a nice Disney doll and sold them together. Well played, pricing manager. Well played.

Anyways, they were packaged together and for $3.00 I bought them both. The Merida doll comes from Target. I was lucky enough to find a useful blog post about this doll by the Thrift Store Dolls blog that matches her dress and weird arms exactly. She is a Merida doll from Target circa 2011. She is one of the cheaper dolls produced, but that’s okay with me. My doll is missing the crown and belt, but she does still have her dress. That’s more than most dolls I find at thrift stores. Overall, she is a cool find.

As for the other doll, it’s head is vinyl while the body is hollow plastic. I doubt that the head was originally made for this body because the neck seems too short and too big for it. I don’t think it is glued on because you can twist the head. I don’t want to pull the head off because she has already been claimed by my kiddo. Said offspring is young enough that she doesn’t seem to mind the aesthetic problems. Her only real concern is the reaction she gets when she throws the doll at the cat. Merida will stay as just Merida for now, but she is a strong candidate for Amy Pond or River Song. I have another ginger doll that I adore, and either one could be transformed into those characters.

After finding those two dolls, I was super excited when I saw this in another toy bin.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/06a/16074280/files/2014/12/img_7075.jpg

Not only is it a male doll, but I know I had an Aladdin doll growing up and it made me nostalgic. However, my initial glee was dashed once I took a closer look at the doll. He has markings on his body in permanent marker, his neck was torn open and was haphazardly re-glued, and he was vastly overpriced for a broken toy. $2.00 is what they wanted for this. Can you believe that? If he were intact, it would be a fair price (especially considering he isn’t nude and comes with his original pants). However, his head was literally falling off and the vinyl is torn beyond repair. Just look at it; it isn’t an easy fix.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/06a/16074280/files/2014/12/img_7078.png

This doll would have been thrown in the trash at the thrift store I used to work for. It never would have made it onto the floor, and if a manager had put a broken doll on the floor, then they wouldn’t have overpriced it. It will be interesting to see if he is still there the next time we make it to that thrift store. I hope people have enough sense to know that even a Disney prince doll is worthless when it is in such terrible condition.

Back to shopping! I went to a new thrift store next. It was one my husband had pointed out to me a while ago, but we didn’t have time to stop that day. It was nicely set up, and I found some small knitting needles. My only qualm with their store is that their pricing was deceptive. The sign said $1 for knitting needles. In the jar, needles were taped in groups of 4 needles, so one can reasonably assume that each group is $1. Apparently, each pair is $1 and each taped group is $2. While I think $1 per pair is a fair price for knitting needles, I am miffed that their pricing was deceptive. Who knows what other surprises I’ll find if I keep shopping there? I don’t think I’ll be going back to this store because of this unpleasant experience.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/06a/16074280/files/2014/12/img_7073.jpg

These needles are size one, two, and four. They are small enough for me to tackle some of the doll knitting patterns that I have seen posted online. I am excited! I hope to increase my knitting skills and doll wardrobe with them. It should be a lot of fun!

After a few more miscellaneous stops, I went to my favorite thrift store. It was happy hour (half off already amazing prices – YES), and I found an awesome vintage doll. She cost $0.12!

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/06a/16074280/files/2014/12/img_7036.jpg

Her shirt and skirt are from the Cool Times Midge doll, but the leggings are from the Cool Times Fashions Dance Outfit. The leggings for the original Cool Times Midge were spotted. I’m not sure what the doll is. I want to say she is Cool Times Midge, but her eyeshadow color is wrong (the doll in every picture I’ve seen has blue eyeshadow and my doll has copious amounts of green eyeshadow) and and the freckles are wrong (my doll has no freckles while the dolls pictured online all have freckles). Even with these discrepancies, I am going to call her Cool Times Midge. She bares enough resemblance that I feel confident in calling her that, but feel free to comment with a correction if you recognize her.

**Update** This doll is Dance Club Kayla from 1989. This explains her makeup and crimped hair. A giant thank you to Taswegian1957 for her awesome knowledge of dolls. You rock!

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/06a/16074280/files/2014/12/img_7038.jpg

I am excited to have such a distinctive doll! These late 80’s dolls are so much fun. I think I will keep her as-is for the foreseeable future. She is just too cool to change drastically.

My final stop was at the local Goodwill. I found a couple of awesome dolls there! They cost $1.00 each, which is a fair price for the area. First up is an amazing vintage doll from the 70’s.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/06a/16074280/files/2014/12/img_7071.jpg

This doll is a very unique find. I knew she was special in the store because of the date stamped on her back – 1958 Korea.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/06a/16074280/files/2014/12/img_6955.jpg

The older mold combined with the fact she wasn’t made in China told me that she is a pre-80’s doll. After some research, I found out she is a Barbie #7382 made in 1977. I lucked out because the My Vintage Barbie blog profiled this doll in a blog post last month. Without their information, I would have had a much harder time identifying her.

A few cool facts about this doll are that she was not sold in the United States, she used the Stacey head mold, and her stamp changed several times. I know she is a 1977 doll because of her stamp. Earlier dolls had a different wording on the stamp, and later dolls had a different stamp and different eye paint. Overall, I am very excited to add her into the fold. I don’t want to do anything extreme with her, but she could easily be a supporting character from any number of episodes.

The final doll I found is a more modern doll from the 90’s or 00’s in a cute dress. She is also the most striking of all the dolls I found this trip because she perfectly fits an idea I currently have for a Barbie Who? doll.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/06a/16074280/files/2014/12/img_7072.jpg

I don’t know if her hair is supposed to be short or if she got a haircut, but I love it! It matches what I have in mind for Peri. Even her earrings match the color Peri wears. This doll is absolutely perfect for Peri. I now have crochet thread and the perfect doll, so there is no doubt that Peri will be the next subject for Barbie Who? – the universe is simply demanding it.

**Update** This doll is Flower Power Teresa released in 2000. The original doll did have long hair, so her last owner chopped it off. Another gigantic thank you to Taswegian1957 for the identification.

She isn’t pristine, though. This doll has some blue paint on her face that I need to remove without ruining her face paint. That will be the biggest challenge with this doll. She also has a price marked on her in permanent marker on her foot. My biggest gripe with the local goodwill is that they use permanent marker to put prices on the feet or back of dolls. This is treatable, but it kills me to see really neat dolls with such preventable marks. Other stores either have uniform pricing for all dolls or they bag the dolls. Once or twice I’ve even seen dolls with a plastic tag or sticker. I would much rather use a degreaser to get the sticky ick off of a doll than spend three days getting out permanent marker stains. I’m sure most people buying dolls would feel the same. /endrant

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/06a/16074280/files/2014/12/img_7037.jpg

This trip was a lot of fun. I found some fun vintage dolls, my daughter has a new doll to play with, and I know what direction I want to take the blog next. I am also thoroughly snowed in, so I have plenty of time to work on new patterns. Once I finish my Christmas crafting, I can begin on round two of Barbie Who? Just hang in there! The new year will bring plenty of time to devote to making clothes and doing other crafts.

11 Comments

Filed under Barbie Who?, Shopping

11 responses to “Winter Shopping

  1. I’m looking forward to seeing how Peri turns out. I think that Teresa has had a haircut. I can’t recall any short haired ones from that era. She looks familiar, I’ll see if my theory holds out but a lot of those 80s and 90s dolls look pretty similar without their original outfit. As for your red head what do you think of this idea? This is Dance Club Kayla. Whoever she is she is very pretty. I love the Diva face.
    http://kattisdolls.net/KDold/images/faces/11/KaylaDP.jpg.
    I was wondering if the doll with the weird neck might be a Totsy. I have seen a few like that. It’s a shame, the face is quite pretty but she just looks wrong, wrong, wrong.
    I am amazed that any Thrift store would think someone would buy badly damaged doll for $2 when you can buy good ones for so little. Thrift dolls here are often overpriced and while when I was a new collector I would buy loads of them I’ve now become very fussy. You rarely see a doll for less than $4 here anyway. For that price I expect clothes, and a tidy hair style as well as an undamaged body.

    • I agree on Teresa’s hair; the more I thibk about it, the more I think her original hair was longer. It is a pretty good haircut, though. It is more even than I think I could get it. I hope the clothes do her justice!

      Thank you, thank you, thank you for the ID on that 80’s doll! The dance club Kayla looks just like her. I am so lucky that you read and comment. You have a great eye when it comes to these dolls. 🙂

      I agree 100% about being picky when buying dolls. I am spoiled by my location; there are a lot of people who drop their old dolls off at thrift stores and the stores are usually reasonable when reselling them. It just boggles my mind when they price something so bad so high. I can somewhat understand pricing something that looks vintage a little higher, but not something that has clear defects.

      • I actually thought that Kayla was Barbie and the Rockers Diva at first because the hair is similar but when I looked at her photo (I have one) I realised that the eye shadow was pink not green. That’s a pretty Kayla. I think I once owned that Teresa but I’m struggling to remember her name. If it is the one I think she had a pink and orange maxi dress and a matching hat. Date around 2000. I’ll get back to you if I remember. I don’t have her any more.

  2. Isn’t it the worst when shops use permanent marker for pricing? Ugh, I hate it so much. I collect vintage knitting patterns and it just makes me sad when I find lovely old pattern books with ugly, non-removable marker on them. Mind you, some old price stickers can take some shifting, but they’re still preferable to marker!

    You really have found an amazing bounty of dolls here. At first, I thought the last one could become a Tegan but when you mentioned Peri, I realised she’s just perfect for that. I can’t wait to see them when you’ve had time to transform them.

    • Yes! I’m not alone! It drives me crazy when there are prices writted directly on books. I buy all of my books used, and it makes me sad when a book is in great condition except for the liberal use of markers on them. For some types of laminated covers, you can wipe it off with a solvent, but most pattern book covers are too thin for that.

  3. I think your Teresa/Peri might be Flower Power Teresa. I could not remember the name. I can’t quite see the eye colour on yours but if it’s violet that might be who you have.

  4. Pingback: Shopping Away from Home | Barbie Who?

  5. Pingback: Happy (Belated) Birthday to Me | Barbie Who?

  6. Pingback: Blog Anniversary Presents | Barbie Who?

Geronimo!

