Meet Cofelia

Cofelia is officially finished! Cofelia, or Miss Foster, is from the Doctor Who episode Partners in Crime. She is the head of Adipose Industries and matron to the adorably pudgy adipose aliens (when she isn’t selling weight loss pills). I started working on this doll in September (don’t ask me where the time went) and finished her in December. I didn’t have the sense to take a before picture, so here is a picture from early on vs a picture today.

IMG_6960.PNG

I started with a 2006 Beach Glam Barbie that I had purchased at a thrift store for $1. She did require some cleaning, but after a quick bath she was as good as new. I chose her over other dolls for her nice hair and her similar look to Cofelia from the show. To transform her, I removed her earrings, bought her a pair of glasses, styled her hair, and created several pieces of clothing for her to wear.

Top

IMG_6224.JPG

Jacket

IMG_6512.JPG

Skirt

IMG_6221.JPG

Stockings

IMG_6757.PNG

Shoes

IMG_6716.JPG

Adipose 1

IMG_6618.JPG

Adipose 2

IMG_6761.JPG

Bring it all together and you get one fantastic matron.

IMG_6958.JPG

In addition to all of that, I made four practice garments to polish up my skills. I also found many dolls and crafting supplies while thrift shopping. I have no doubt that I will put them all to good use as I continue making dolls as part of my Barbie Who? project.

Cofelia has been a delight over the last few months. I have enjoyed learning to work with new materials to create clothes for her and other dolls. I have no doubt that these skills will mean good things for the future. Stay tuned to see just what is in store!

7 Comments

Filed under Barbie Who?, Finished Dolls

7 responses to “Meet Cofelia

  1. Kit Dunsmore

    What a fun idea! Love your little adipose blobs. They really sell it.

  2. You have done a great job with her. I think that jacket is my favourite piece of the outfit.

  3. Pingback: Finished Dolls | Barbie Who?

  4. Pingback: Who Will Join the Oodkind? | Barbie Who?

  5. Pingback: Blog Anniversary | Barbie Who?

Geronimo!

