My Spidey Senses Are Tingling

Earlier today, I had an impromptu trip into town. It happened because my husband asked if we wanted to meet him for lunch. He is taking classes, so he gets home after the baby falls asleep most nights. Because of this, I meet him for lunch whenever he has time for it. I think it’s good for the kiddo to see him, and it’s a nice break from my routine. Everybody wins.

While we were out, I stopped at the hobby store and the thrift store. At the hobby store, I bought some new yarn needles and black yarn. I was also tempted to buy pretty much everything else in the store. There is just so much potential!

Afterwards, we went to the thrift store and I found a bunch of wooden letters. At first I didn’t think much of it, but when I looked closer I realized that they almost spelled my daughter’s name. Almost. It was off by one letter. So discouraging! I just bought the first letter of her name; I know I can’t make and probably couldn’t find a cursive letter that would match the other letters. Still, it’s a cool find. I haven’t decided if I want to put it in her room or hang it on her door. Decisions!

I also found two male dolls! They are the first gents to join the harem of lady dolls I’ve found. But there’s a catch…. The first doll is male, but he is also Spider Man. Yep, I am now the proud owner of a Spidey doll. Obviously, I can’t turn him into one of the Doctors, but I know he will be useful.

IMG_6068.JPG

The second doll is also a gent, but he is a child. While I never considered children as part of the project, he distinctly reminds me of a certain boy who is looking for his mum. Yep, I’m going there. This doll will become Jaimie from the episode The Empty Child.

IMG_6069.JPG

The Empty Child is one of the most iconic episodes of Doctor Who. It is an adventure with Rose and the Ninth Doctor in WWII era London. The episode introduces Captain Jack and gives us the creepy line “Are you my mummy?” There is absolutely no doubt that I will transform this doll into that little boy.

Spidey doesn’t have nearly as much certainty in his future. He will have to become something with an entirely different face, such as a Cyberman, an Ood, or a Silurian. Until then, he seems to be enjoying life as the only single guy mingling amongst the ladies.

IMG_6070.JPG

It was a great outing! I am pleased with the dolls I found, and I am excited to start making clothes for the first doll I am transforming for this project. I still hope I have the first one done before the month is out!

8 Comments

Filed under Barbie Who?, Shopping

8 responses to “My Spidey Senses Are Tingling

  1. I asked my hubby about your Spider-Man. He’s Ben Riley’s Scarlet Spider, he is a clone of Spider-Man. My hubby thinks he came out in the early ’90’s.

    I have to say I am loving your blog! I just stumbled upon it last night and have been reading through. You’ve inspired me to create my own Barbie Who? Outfits. But I’ll be sewing, I have no idea what to do with yarn and knitting needles. I love the unique Barbies, too. Much more exciting than blonde and blue eyed.

    • Thank you very much! It’s so cool to finally know who Arachnid Guy really is. A giant thank-you to you and your knowledgable

    • Sorry, my keyboard got away from me. A giant thank-you to you and your knowledgable husband! I love it when people who KNOW these dolls comment. I guess half the time because there are just too many dolls to keep straight with Barbie alone, let alone when you get into action figures like this.

      I am so happy that you are enjoying the blog. It really is a labor of love and something that I put a lot of time and effort into. I recently purchased a new sewing machine (I need to get off my bum and blog about it because I may do an Ood outfit from a Simplicity pattern I got on sale) and have been experimenting with some outfits. I’ll make sure that I post anything that I think is a good match. I think Simplicity released a vintage pattern that reminded me of something one of the earlier companions wore. And that’s just off the top of my head! I hope that you have fun making some cool Doctor Who? inspired outfits. It certainly is a fun way to add a twist to the regular Barbie’s you see everywhere.

      Cheers!!!

      • I’ve got several vintage patterns, so if you need anything specific let me know. I just picked up a vintage Advance pattern for Ken, but I think they may be a bit tight, so I’ll be doing some modifications for them. I’d love to share. I’m super jealous that you’re thrift stores are so cheap! The ones around me are at least $2.50 per doll, but I did find a Ken doll last night (with super ugly hair, but awesome boots) for $1.89 and thought that was a steal. Some day I’ll try my hand at repainting, but I just can’t do it yet. I’ve got all my dolls from when I was a kid, and my girls (I have three) are definitely adding to the Barbie pool. I do try to steer them towards the more unique and exotic dolls, though.

        Here’s a little tip for sewing Barbie clothes: it’s best to add a little extra wiggle room to the pattern. I usually add a bit extra fabric in the back where it will snap/velcro up. Especially wtih the older patterns. Good luck and I cannot wait to see what you come up with next!

      • That is so kind of you! Thank you. I’ll remember that for when I finish these Ood; I was thinking of sewing something for the next doll since sewing goes so much faster than knitting and crochet. And I will remember that tip for when I do venture into sewing. I’ve had enough trouble with regular sized sewing projects being finicky, and I’m sure doll sized things have an even smaller margin for error.

        I know exactly what you mean! We just moved south, and the thrift stores here either don’t have any dolls or they have them way over-priced. You can almost buy a new doll for the $3-$5/doll they want here. This is a good thing, though. At least it will reign in my collection to only the best ones I find.

        Repainting is truly an art, and it is something I’ve been considering for a long time. My only trepidation comes from doing the eyes; I don’t think I can make them look even, let alone magical like some of the repaints I’ve seen on FaceBook.

  2. Well, if you ever want to do a trade, I’d love a sweater like the one in the Gridlock episode of the wife in the car, but I am no knitter. 😉 I have found that the more I sew, the better I’m getting, although sometimes I choose the wrong fabric and that totally sucks.

    I live in a smaller town and we have one thrift store and the dolls are so overpriced. $2.50 for the cheap ones and they even have some at $6-9. Are you kidding me? Who really wants dolls from the ’80’s for that price? I need to hit them up tomorrow and see what they’ve got. I meant to go today, but totally forgot to grab cash, they only take cash or check.

    Good luck!

    • I will keep that in mind! I’m sure we can work something out once I have some more free time. I finally made the 12 hour drive last week from my family’s place in the Midwest to our new home in the southern USA. It’s been quite the transition.

      I hope you have good luck shopping! I haven’t had any in our new town, and we have 2 thrift stores and a consignment store. I think it’s small town syndrome and I’m almost afraid to see how much they’ll be priced at when I do see some. There is another town near buy a new friend and I might check out next week. Maybe I’ll have better luck there. I don’t think this new place will feel like home until I’ve thrifter a new doll from a local shop. 🙂

  3. Good luck thrifting!

Geronimo!

