Details, Details, Details

I have dedicated a decent amount of time towards thinking about my new Barbie Who? project. I sometimes fall into the trap of thinking too much and doing too little, but I’d like to think that this was a bit more productive than that. In order for this to be a legitimate project, I need to set up some parameters and expectations for myself. It is impossible to hold yourself to a standard if one is not stated, so here we go.

I will create each outfit myself. I can’t cop out and buy a dress from Etsy or a toy store. Each one will be a unique creation of my own. I can use patterns that I find or purchase online, but I have to physically assemble the piece myself. I will put one exception in here; my mother and several friends may occasionally help me. I am okay at many different crafts, but I am fortunate enough to know people who are great at them. I feel no shame in asking for help when I need it. If they contribute in some way, I will be sure to give them credit where it is due.

I will use as many used/upcycled/recycled parts as I can reasonably obtain. This means that I will only use dolls that I find at thrift stores, fabric from old clothes, and other textiles and supplies from second-hand stores. Some things, like thread and yarn, I have to buy new. If I didn’t, I would spend 10 years trying to find the right shade, and that is too slow a pace for my taste. Still, I want to show that you can give a fantastic new life to an item that some people would consider trash.

I will blog at least twice per week about my progress. This may be problematic because I have a household to run in the real world, but I want to regularly update the blog with what I’ve done, supplies I’ve found, and anything else I have on my mind.

There they are! My three initial rules to govern over Barbie Who? This is going to be quite the adventure! After getting started, I may add more rules. Perhaps I will even make a page detailing the rules. Regardless, I will do my best to hold myself to the standards stated above. Only time will tell if I can do it, but I have to start somewhere. If you have any suggestions, please leave a comment. I would love to hear anything you have to say.

Leave a comment

Filed under Barbie Who?

Geronimo!

